Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

DirectShow Error! - IMediaEvent::WaitForCompletion


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Flight East

Flight East

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 June 2011 - 02:48 PM

I've acquired a number of .flac files, which I've been burning to audio CD using ImgBurn. When I load the cuesheet for the files I get this message:

Posted Image


This isn't actually the problem! I've always been able to get around this by using Trader's Little Helper (TLH) to convert the .flac files to .wav files, amending the cuesheet accordingly and then the CD has always been burned and verified without any further problems. However, a couple of weeks ago when I tried to burn a CD from .wav files I got the following message:

Posted Image


On the first occurrence, I burned the disc anyway...and ended up with 12 tracks of complete silence. Very relaxing, but not quite what I was hoping for. Since then I've been able to burn CDs by continually re-converting the .flac files to .wav files (using both TLH and Foobar2000) until ImgBurn accepts them. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling ImgBurn, Foobar2000, VLC MediaPlayer, TLH and Winamp in an attempt to solve the problem - all to no avail.

Having exhausted what seemed to be the logical solutions, today I took the seemingly bizarre step of using TLH to re-encode the .flac files to - erm - .flac files, then converting the re-encoded files into .wav files and burning from those. Guess what? I've had a 100% success rate so far!

I've no idea why I suddenly started getting the DirectShow error, as I don't think I've changed my PC setup in any way (bar maybe updating my version of VLC) in between there being no problem and the problem starting. Does anyone have an explanation, please? I seem to have a workaround now, but I don't know why I need it in the first place!

Edited by Flight East, 04 June 2011 - 03:30 PM.


#2 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 04 June 2011 - 02:56 PM

For the flac files, can't you just install madFlac as per the Audio CD guide?

http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=5555&view=findpost&p=91374
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#3 Flight East

Flight East

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 June 2011 - 03:29 PM

For the flac files, can't you just install madFlac as per the Audio CD guide?

http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=5555&view=findpost&p=91374


Thanks for that (and so quickly too!), I think that post must've been written after I started using ImgBurn. I'll certainly give it a go, but I'd still be interested to know why I've suddenly started having a problem after years of having none!

#4 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 04 June 2011 - 05:47 PM

You'd have to see which filters DirectShow is pulling into the graph. Maybe one of them changed and is messing things up.

Right click a file (you've already added) when building the CUE and you should see an option to display the DirectShow Filter List on the menu that pops up.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#5 Flight East

Flight East

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 June 2011 - 02:14 AM

You'd have to see which filters DirectShow is pulling into the graph. Maybe one of them changed and is messing things up.

Right click a file (you've already added) when building the CUE and you should see an option to display the DirectShow Filter List on the menu that pops up.


OK, I tried that and got this:

Posted Image


Is there anything there that's wrong? Thanks for your help.

Edited by Flight East, 05 June 2011 - 02:18 AM.


#6 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 05 June 2011 - 09:46 AM

It looks fine to me.

Try running the codec tweak tool and see if it can find a problem.

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/codec_tweak_tool.htm

You could also try playing one of the problem wav files in GraphEdit and see if it errors out.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#7 Flight East

Flight East

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 June 2011 - 07:36 PM

It looks fine to me.

Try running the codec tweak tool and see if it can find a problem.

http://www.free-codecs.com/download/codec_tweak_tool.htm

You could also try playing one of the problem wav files in GraphEdit and see if it errors out.


Apologies for the delay in replying. I downloaded codec tweak, but haven't actually needed to use it because I suddenly stopped getting the DirectShow error! It literally disappeared overnight. I've not posted again until now as I wanted to make sure that it wasn't just a temporary reprieve, but it seems to be holding (fingers crossed).

It's all very strange, but thank you very much for all your suggestions and advice.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users