Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

Device Not ready..medium not present? not accepting my dvd-r blank dvd


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mizzreyes21

mizzreyes21

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:San Antonio texas

Posted 29 June 2011 - 11:30 PM

Hi Im new to this. Please bare with me. I used the dvd shrink to make a iso file of a movie. I then tried to write the dvd but it wouldnt allow me to.

I 18:08:55 ImgBurn Version 2.5.5.0 started!
I 18:08:55 Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 3)
I 18:08:55 Total Physical Memory: 916,972 KB - Available: 92,828 KB
I 18:08:56 Initialising SPTI...
I 18:08:56 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 18:08:56 -> Drive 1 - Info: COMBO PATA 52X32X52X MA31 (G:) (ATA)
I 18:08:56 -> Drive 2 - Info: _NEC DVD+RW ND-1100A 10FD (D:) (ATA)
I 18:08:56 Found 1 DVD-ROM/CD-RW and 1 DVD+RW!


The error message reads device not ready ..medium not present. The blank dvd that I am trying to use is dvd-r. Am I using the wrong type of disc for my burner or is something else incorrect? thanks for your help and patience.

#2 mizzreyes21

mizzreyes21

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:San Antonio texas

Posted 29 June 2011 - 11:44 PM

My directions after using the dvd shrink were to insert the blank dvd..click on write image to disc..make sure it is 1x write speed and then click write...everything was good til The write part. It didnt allow me to write anything. the picture is faded and doesnt allow me to click it.

#3 spinningwheel

spinningwheel

    It is what it is and it ain't what it ain't...Period.

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,494 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Coast, USA

Posted 29 June 2011 - 11:49 PM

Your cd drive obviously won't burn a dvd and your NEC dvd drive is only good on +r discs. :thumbup:

spinner : >)


Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming -- WOW-- What a ride

http://www.facebook.com/brunswicksmokers


We do not discuss ripping here. If you need help with that, Google it...if you can't accept that, move on!


#4 spinningwheel

spinningwheel

    It is what it is and it ain't what it ain't...Period.

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,494 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Coast, USA

Posted 29 June 2011 - 11:50 PM

Also read this.

spinner : >)


Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming -- WOW-- What a ride

http://www.facebook.com/brunswicksmokers


We do not discuss ripping here. If you need help with that, Google it...if you can't accept that, move on!


#5 Cynthia

Cynthia

    ISF Newbie

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,673 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 29 June 2011 - 11:52 PM

How big is that ISO file. It might require a double layer disc and that burner doesn't support those.

Can you post how many sectors the iso file is? You should see this in the upper right corner of the program.

Posted Image


#6 Cynthia

Cynthia

    ISF Newbie

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,673 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 29 June 2011 - 11:54 PM

Your cd drive obviously won't burn a dvd and your NEC dvd drive is only good on +r discs. :thumbup:

According to NEC it should support both -R and +R discs. :)

http://support.necam.com/optical/specs/nd-1100a.pdf

Edit:

You are right, it only supports +R media. I'm reading as the the devil reads the Bible. :(

The Nec 1300 was the first one that supports both formats.

Posted Image


#7 mizzreyes21

mizzreyes21

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:San Antonio texas

Posted 29 June 2011 - 11:56 PM

COMBO PATA 52X32X52X MA31 (ATA)
Current Profile: DVD-ROM

Disc Information:
Status: Complete
State of Last Session: Complete
Erasable: No
Sessions: 1
Sectors: 2,278,858
Size: 4,667,101,184 bytes
Time: 506:26:58 (MM:SS:FF)

TOC Information:
Session 1... (LBA: 0)
-> Track 01 (Mode 1, LBA: 0 - 2278857)
-> LeadOut (LBA: 2278858)

Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
Book Type: DVD-ROM
Part Version: 1
Disc Size: 120mm
Maximum Read Rate: 10.08Mbps
Number of Layers: 1
Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
Linear Density: 0.267 um/bit
Track Density: 0.74 um/track
First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 2,475,465
Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0

#8 mizzreyes21

mizzreyes21

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:San Antonio texas

Posted 30 June 2011 - 12:01 AM

Thanks for such fast responses. I really appreciate your help. Im understanding that I need to purchase dvd+r dvds to burn instead of dvd-r. Although Im not too sure about the double layering portion..based on the information above am i able to still burn this iso file or do i need to get a new burner. thanks alot!

#9 Cynthia

Cynthia

    ISF Newbie

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,673 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 30 June 2011 - 12:37 AM

Although Im not too sure about the double layering portion..based on the information above am i able to still burn this iso file or do i need to get a new burner. thanks alot!

If you used DVD Shrink to shrink (or it wasn't needed to shrink) - it will fit on a DVD5 (=single layer disc/regular +R disc)

:)

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users