Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies


Malware from one of your mirrors!

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 maxcelcat


    ISF Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 03 January 2018 - 10:50 PM

Folks, I love imgburn, have used it for years, and went to grab a copy for one of my machines back in late December.


I downloaded the installer from your first mirror, Digital Digest, only to find it was one of those installer-inside-an-installer things, which went and tried to install all sorts of software before it would allow me to download and install imgburn. I killed it before it finished, but it still installed three different kinds of malware on my machine.


Here's the text in some small print at the bottom of the Digital Digest download page:


"The download link to the right is enabled with our secure download manager to ensure a successful, faster download. You can download this file without our download manager here."


"Secure Download Manager" = malware vector.


Here's my post about attempting to remove the malware: https://serverfault.com/questions/890505/remvoving-the-malware-from-hell?noredirect=1


I'm likely to have to rebuild my machine now!


Please don't use that company as a mirror site, and consider checking the other mirrors for similar activities.



    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 04 January 2018 - 07:29 AM

I'm not seeing that on the DD mirror.

Perhaps you clicked an advert?

The actual download button is in the green box on the right... just above the Facebook widget.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users