No create layer break position box?

jan.t

I am new to this so it should be a simple problem. I want to burn my 1.3 GB shortfilm in double layer since I have heard it has better image quality than single layer (?), but when I press the write button no create layer break position box appears. Instead I get this:

This image doesn?t need to go on a double layer disc, it will fit on a DVD+-R/RW just fine. Would you like to continue anyway?

When I choose Tools -> ISO -> IFO layer break position, an open file box appears.. ? Do I have to create an ISO first on the hard drive? I only have a Audio, Video TS folder with the burning information.

Dual layer offers better quality because it offers more space for video/audio data, but the content has to be authored to take advantage of this.

ImgBurn is just a burning program, so it doesn't convert nor changes the quality of the content/data to be burnt. Since your shortfilm is only 1.3 GB, you can safely burn it to a single layer DVD?R, as such discs can hold 4.38 GiB (4.7 GB) of data.

So double layer is only for problems with space?? I thought double layer meant one identical video layer on top of another and therefore better quality dvd output..?

My author program is dvdauthorgui. Doesnt the dvdauthorgui video_ts folder output support double layer burns with imgburn?

Edited by jan.t

double layer discs are approximately 8.5 gigs single layer are 4.38 .If you were attempting to put a 6 gig file on a single layer disc you would need to compress the file to fit and would reduce the quality (I do it all the time and dont see any problems on a 32 inch tv) putting the same file 6 gigs on a dual layer would not require compression so the quality would be slightly better.

You will have no problems putting your 1.3gig film on a single layer disc and you'll have a perfect 1:1 copy

dual layer is not putting one identical layer over another they are seperate with Layer 0 always being a bit larger than layer 1