Help to get started with ASPI/SPTI

VeNorm

Hi @all, hi @LIGHTNING UK!

At first i must say, wow, Imgburn blows all the commercial products away.

Now what i want to know, because i am also a developer (but not so hard like you hehe) and its time for me to get into this stuff. Actually i developing with c++ and the winapi and doing some things with mysql, so the most time i spent time for developing database applications. And now i want to expand my knowledge on aspi/spti after i saw your imgburn.

My problem is how to get started ?

Should i read directly the scsi and mmc specs from t10 or should i first inform about how cd drives and cd works in general (so i think there are some unclear definitions for me, like pre gap)

It would also be great if someone have links to interesting code snippets, becaue google does not know so much about aspi and mmc commands :)

Thanks for help and have a nice day !

bye,

Venorm

Start by looking at the mmc command specs document and then all you really need to do is figure out how to enumerate the drives and send a command to them - this is done via the functions CreateFile and DeviceIoControl (with the parameter 'SCSI_PASS_THROUGH_DIRECT').

Microsoft have a few basic examples of how to communicate with drives. You just have to swap out the MMC commands they issue for the ones you want to issue - and that's just a case of changing what's in the CDB (command descriptor block).

ahh okay thank you.

Okay thats great, because i also often works with the DeviceIoControl function. It sounds really easy, but i think the hard stuff is to setup the CDB right? How do you enumerate the drives? Do you test all the 26 possible combinations or do you use the SetupDi functions of windows?

And the CDB, would it be a help to test CDB structures with the DVDInfoPro tool or ist it not recommend?

The next point is, i haven't so many information about cd roms and so on. if i understand right, the data on a disc is exactly what an iso-image is ?