Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

NEC ND-3500a firmware?



  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 February 2006 - 07:31 AM

Well, this section is called Drives & Media. :) So, I thought I'd post it here.


Has anyone tried any of the firmware for the NEC ND-3500a beyond the official release version from NEC, 2.1A? I was wondering, if anyone had, what firmware was it and if it worked. :D I found something called LD Version 1.4 (Liggy & Dee NEC ND-3500 firmware) with some swapped write strategies, etc. Wondered if anyone had had any better reads/writes with any unofficial firmware before I tried it.


Thanks!

#2 chewy

chewy

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,411 posts

Posted 03 February 2006 - 12:11 PM

considering Dee recently said the NEC 3500 still reigns supreme burning dvd-r media, I would use her latest!
2TB
http://liggydee.cdfreaks.com/page/3500/
Posted Image

#3 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 March 2006 - 08:11 AM

Installed the latest from the link and it seems fine. :) You sure that 2TB is the latest? 2TG looks like it is. It's not only the larger value :D but, the date listed on the 2TB like is February 2005, and TG is July 2005. That list appears to be entirely hapharzardly made, not in order according to age.

#4 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 March 2006 - 09:47 AM

Looks like 2.TG is the same as 2.TB except for some homemade write strategies. So, they technically have the same "date." :)

#5 lfcrule1972

lfcrule1972

    Liv 1 v 0 ManUre

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere....

Posted 06 March 2006 - 08:41 AM

I used the modded fw on my NEC4550 from the same source - db worked fine for me, reverted to stock fw for the disc tests tho.... :)

Posted Image


For the ImgBurn Drives & Media reviews click here. Having trouble burning your dual layer discs ? Then check this out ! Want to interpret your disc scans ? Click here to read Corny's guide

Check out www.nomorecoasters.com or www.videohelp.com for media dye review. Check out SVP Communications for great deals on blank disc media. . To update your drives firmware check out www.rpc1.org . For an easy to follow guide for firmware updates click here for Shamus' guide. . For a guide to burning Dual Layer Disks with PgcEdit click here for blutach's guide.

#6 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 March 2006 - 09:46 AM

Haven't had a problem with the 2.TB. Installed 2.TG last night, though haven't had a chance to test a burn yet.

#7 ????

????

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Krautland

Posted 06 March 2006 - 04:51 PM

I am running 2.TG for months now and it's running good with Ricoh 8x @ 16x and TY 8x @ 12x. As you might know (I am sure you do), it all depends on the media you are using, but 2.TG is definitely recommended on my end.

Edited by ????, 06 March 2006 - 04:52 PM.


#8 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 March 2006 - 06:03 PM

Ritek 16x sounds good. I've been using RITEKF1 for less important, temporary, etc. backups and some genuine Sony 8x DVD-R's I picked up last year as my long term storage right now.

#9 ????

????

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Krautland

Posted 06 March 2006 - 09:14 PM

No, NOT Ritek! I was referring to RICOH JPN-R02-03 (8x) media. I don't know how Riteks will perform with 2.TG but since the 3500 is a great drive I wouldn't be surprised if Riteks will go well too, although I just don't trust that dye in the long turn.

Edit: If you take media scans serious - which I don't - you might check this thread on cdfreaks.com for some scanning results. :P

Edited by ????, 06 March 2006 - 09:19 PM.


#10 polopony

polopony

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach

Posted 07 March 2006 - 03:21 AM

just friggin dandy tried the 2.TG firmware downloaded it flashed it all went ok but now my drive 3500 reports all DVD's as unsupported disks and the cd freaks site wont let me log in with my user name or password says invalid username or password and I cant flash back to 2.1A with the firmware page called up with IMGburn :thumbup: wonderfull

#11 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 March 2006 - 04:17 AM

I don't take scans results seriously. :) No one has YET to tell me what to look for in them, so, all those graphs and values don't mean anything to me. As for Ritek vs. Ricoh, it's all the same. Both come from Ricoh, and, Ricoh has been more than willing, in the past, to use returned discs rebranded.


polo;

when it says unsupported, what is saying unsupported? Explorer? ImgBurn? Plus, have you tried rewritables? I've yet to try a burn, but, I can get a DVD-RW that was previously burned to read under 2.TG.

#12 ????

????

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Krautland

Posted 07 March 2006 - 09:42 AM

I don't take scans results seriously. :) No one has YET to tell me what to look for in them, so, all those graphs and values don't mean anything to me. As for Ritek vs. Ricoh, it's all the same. Both come from Ricoh, and, Ricoh has been more than willing, in the past, to use returned discs rebranded.


Well, it isn't that difficult to understand, PIE shouldn't exceed a value of 280, PIF's shouldn't exceed 4 per block. Beta and Jitter values should be stable (-5,0% ~ +10%) in order to avoid a skipping and freezing disc.
You are sure that you had a Ricoh dye as a Ritek labeled media? Well, I don't buy Ritek, but this sounds unusual to me since both are competitors and share the same markets. Anyways as long as it works out for you there is no need to discuss about media dyes. :coffee:


...tried the 2.TG firmware downloaded it flashed it all went ok but now my drive 3500 reports all DVD's as unsupported disks...


I am sorry to hear that, I never had such a problem and I flashed my drive pretty often. I guess you haven't flashed with a disc inside or with AnyDVD active (the latter shouldn't be a problem)? That might happen pretty often when you're flashing in a hurry or something like this.
Your drive is still recognized in BIOS/Windows? Does it still support CD-Rs? Which media type are you using? Maybe its write strategy got replaced by another one?
What you could try as one of the last options is using Binflash to dump the old firmware and flash a new binary file.
Use this tool with care, but if the drive is really dead there is not that much left to loose, unfortunately. If you can't log-in at cdfreaks and would like to seek assistance without a new registration, simply use BugMeNot. A useful resource for different tasks. :teehee: :rasp:

I hope you get your drive working again.

Edited by ????, 07 March 2006 - 09:56 AM.


#13 polopony

polopony

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach

Posted 08 March 2006 - 12:38 PM

polo;

when it says unsupported, what is saying unsupported? Explorer? ImgBurn? Plus, have you tried rewritables? I've yet to try a burn, but, I can get a DVD-RW that was previously burned to read under 2.TG.


it wouldn't read any discs I've burned (DVD5 Yudens and Verbs ) and wouldn't read a factory DVD with Power DVD , this morning 2 days later it reads and plays everything . I didn't do anything but walk away from it all pissed off and the computer is always on under normal circumstances except for the reboot for the flash , this is too strange. When I have time I'll log back into CDfreaks if they let me and see if I can restore original firmware 2.1a with L&D' s flash utility

#14 lfcrule1972

lfcrule1972

    Liv 1 v 0 ManUre

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere....

Posted 09 March 2006 - 08:46 AM

It was a bit fussy to reflash the old FW when I did that for my NEC for the disc tests, as polo rightly points out official fw can't be installed now as it doesn't recognise the NEC drives - thanks to chewy I got mine sorted.

Posted Image


For the ImgBurn Drives & Media reviews click here. Having trouble burning your dual layer discs ? Then check this out ! Want to interpret your disc scans ? Click here to read Corny's guide

Check out www.nomorecoasters.com or www.videohelp.com for media dye review. Check out SVP Communications for great deals on blank disc media. . To update your drives firmware check out www.rpc1.org . For an easy to follow guide for firmware updates click here for Shamus' guide. . For a guide to burning Dual Layer Disks with PgcEdit click here for blutach's guide.

#15 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 March 2006 - 10:43 AM

Do they make a universal firmware reading/flashing utility? I know I have Flashfix on hand to flash the LiteOn/JLMS 166s DVD-ROM to unofficial firmware. Will basically send any firmware file to the drive, even if it's another drive's.

#16 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 March 2006 - 11:31 AM

it wouldn't read any discs I've burned (DVD5 Yudens and Verbs ) and wouldn't read a factory DVD with Power DVD , this morning 2 days later it reads and plays everything . I didn't do anything but walk away from it all pissed off and the computer is always on under normal circumstances except for the reboot for the flash , this is too strange.

I remember back when my NEC 3500a only had 1 problem: Verifies would fail, but, they would read fine in the LiteOn 166s and play fine in stand alones. Then, without changing brands of DVD-R, even using discs from the same stack, the problem just went away and hasn't returned yet. :/

#17 polopony

polopony

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach

Posted 10 March 2006 - 12:24 AM

My neice just forwarded this to me from Scotland :lol:

For all of us who feel only the deepest love and affection for the way
computers have enhanced our lives, read on. At a recent computer
expo(COMDEX), Bill Gates reportedly compared the computer industry with the
auto industry and stated, "If GM had kept up with technology like the
computer industry has, we would all be driving $25.00 cars that got 1,000
miles to the gallon."

In response to Bill's comment, General Motors issued a press release
stating:

If GM had developed technology like Microsoft, we would all be driving cars
with the following characteristics (and I just love this part):

1. For no reason whatsoever, your car would crash twice a day.

2. Every time they repainted the lines in the road, you would have to buy a
new car.

3. Occasionally your car would die on the freeway for no reason. You would
have to pull to the side of the road, close all of the windows, shut off the
car, restart it, and reopen the windows before you could continue. For some
reason you would simply accept this.

4. Occasionally, executing a maneuver such as a left turn would cause your
car to shut down and refuse to restart, in which case you would have to
reinstall the engine.

5. Macintosh would make a car that was powered by the sun, was reliable,
five times as fast and twice as easy to drive - but would run on only five
percent of the roads.

6. The oil, water temperature, and alternator warning lights would all be
replaced by a single "This Car Has Performed An Illegal Operation"
warning
light.

7. The airbag system would ask "Are you sure?" before deploying.

8. Occasionally, for no reason whatsoever, your car would lock you out and
refuse to let you in until you simultaneously lifted the door handle,
turned the key and grabbed hold of the radio antenna

9. Every time a new car was introduced car buyers would have to learn how to
drive all over again because none of the controls would operate in the same
manner as the old car.

10. You'd have to press the "Start" button to turn the engine off.

Please share this with your friends who love - but sometimes hate - their
computer!

#18 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 March 2006 - 06:25 PM

6. The oil, water temperature, and alternator warning lights would all be replaced by a single "This Car Has Performed An Illegal Operation" warning light.



Funny they say this, because, for decades, car manufacturers have already implemented this. It's called the CHECK ENGINE LIGHT! =)) That bloody light can mean just about ANYTHING to the point where it is useless.

#19 polopony

polopony

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Palm Beach

Posted 12 March 2006 - 12:03 PM

Update, with the suggestion of 3000 I used Binflash and was able to flash the 3500 back to the original 2.1 and alls well again now if they NEC would release firmware 2R8 I'd be able to do some scans and see what thats all about :thumbup:

#20 dbminter

dbminter

    ISF God

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,503 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 March 2006 - 12:19 PM

Are you suggesting NEC has this 2R8 firmware already made and is hoarding, withholding it from the general public? :unsure:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users