Connect to remote host? suspicious firewall report
#1
Posted 21 October 2005 - 03:58 AM
The one time I allowed it to connect it wanted next to connect to www.google.com. This just doesn't seem like a good idea for my part. The program works great without connecting to the remote host.
Many thanks for any guidance on this.
U.
#3
Posted 21 October 2005 - 06:39 AM
Nothing to worry about.
FYI, it does microsoft, google and yahoo. The chances of them all being down at the same time is practically nil!
Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.
In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!
Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.
Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!
#4
Posted 21 October 2005 - 12:48 PM

ImgBurn is free. It always has been and always will be.
If you've paid good money for this software, get your money back. If you use
this program regularly, consider making a donation and buy the author a beer.
#5
Posted 21 October 2005 - 05:05 PM
Shamus_McFartfinger, on Oct 21 2005, 07:48 AM, said:
I'm much relieved to learn that it's normal behavior and I'll allow it to check the connections in the future. Really appreciate your help!
U.
#6
Posted 27 October 2005 - 06:11 PM
to see if you are going to get auto check for new versions goto
Tools button >Settings > Events and make sure " On Startup" check for program update is checked like below . then when a new version becomes available, you will get a pop up window informing you
FOR Dual layer discs use genuine Verbatims and nothing else , read this thread by LUK to see why Verbatim Dual layer DV9 thread
FOR Single layer DV5 use genuine Taiyo Yuden media everytime , ONLY TY's and not some other brand with TY dye/ink
DONT ask how to copy protected discs
DONT ask who LIGHTNING_UK is .......we only know him as .................."The Stig"
#7
Posted 02 July 2006 - 10:33 AM
LIGHTNING UK!, on Oct 21 2005, 06:39 AM, said:
Nothing to worry about.
FYI, it does microsoft, google and yahoo. The chances of them all being down at the same time is practically nil!
Why not add a word about this somewhere? I was really worried to see it today for the first time after a clean install. This is what Kerio 2.1.5 reported:
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to wwwtkttest2.microsoft.com [207.46.198.30], port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to wwwtkttest5.microsoft.com [207.46.198.60], port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to wwwtkttest3.microsoft.com [207.46.199.30], port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to wwwtkttest4.microsoft.com [207.46.225.60], port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to wwwbaytest1.microsoft.com [207.46.19.30], port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to 66.249.93.104, port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to 66.249.93.99, port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to 66.249.93.104, port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to 66.249.93.99, port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to 66.249.93.104, port 80
'ImgBurn - The Ultimate Image Burner!' from your computer wants to connect to f1.www.vip.re3.yahoo.com [209.73.186.238], port 80
Anyway, many thanks to LUK and to all testers and helpers for this excellent program.
#8
Posted 02 July 2006 - 12:11 PM
Demetris, on Jul 2 2006, 08:33 PM, said:
LIGHTNING UK!, on Oct 21 2005, 06:39 AM, said:
Nothing to worry about.
FYI, it does microsoft, google and yahoo. The chances of them all being down at the same time is practically nil!
Why not add a word about this somewhere? I was really worried to see it today for the first time after a clean install. This is what Kerio 2.1.5 reported:
Honestly? I don't know. It's not something that many people ask about. (You'd probably be the third person I can remember in the last couple of years

ImgBurn is free. It always has been and always will be.
If you've paid good money for this software, get your money back. If you use
this program regularly, consider making a donation and buy the author a beer.
#9
Posted 02 July 2006 - 02:07 PM
Therefore, if they are prompted by their firewall, they'll be expecting it and just click 'Ok' / 'Yes' etc.
I bet 0.01% of people look at WHERE it's actually connecting to.
As for not being mentioned anywhere... it is, and you're reading it!
Maybe like you, they all ask the same question you did (to themselves), search this forum and find their answer.
That's why it not in a FAQ or anything.... it's not a question that's frequently asked!
Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.
In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!
Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.
Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!
#10
Posted 02 July 2006 - 03:01 PM
I suppose it makes sense to leave it like that, since it is not a frequent question.
btw, if the first request was for an IP address, I would have let it (and all subsequent requests from ImgBurn) through, assuming it was the ImgBurn site. I usually don't check for programs that I've grown to trust. What alarmed me was the MS domain name.
This post has been edited by Demetris: 02 July 2006 - 03:05 PM
#11
Posted 03 July 2006 - 07:42 AM

For the ImgBurn Drives & Media reviews click here. Having trouble burning your dual layer discs ? Then check this out ! Want to interpret your disc scans ? Click here to read Corny's guide
Check out www.nomorecoasters.com or www.videohelp.com for media dye review. Check out SVP Communications for great deals on blank disc media. . To update your drives firmware check out www.rpc1.org . For an easy to follow guide for firmware updates click here for Shamus' guide. . For a guide to burning Dual Layer Disks with PgcEdit click here for blutach's guide.

Help















