Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

Backing up PS2 games


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Murdoc

Murdoc

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 28 January 2007 - 08:15 PM

Hey there, I've been attempting to backup a PS2 game recently. I've created the ISO image and when I tried to burn a copy of it using imgburn, the game loaded but stopped as soon as the loading screen appeared.

I've tried using 4x,2x,1x for writing speeds.

I'm currently using DVD-R (DVD CODE: EDR035H)

Can someone tell me what's wrong? Is it because of incorrect settings for imgburn? Or is it the type of DVD that I'm using?

#2 kevdriver

kevdriver

    Six - Speed Commotion

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,859 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Modding Hondas and Speed. And Barb..........

Posted 28 January 2007 - 08:53 PM

Could you, post a log of the failed burn please. img>help>img logs>copy and paste. :thumbup: What brand name does that media code come from anyways? Never seen it before. :blink: :)

Read the FAQ before posting


Read the Drives and Media Guide for media choices


Read the Guides by Cornholio7 for proper user instructions.


Verbatim DVD+R DL recommended for proper dual layer burning.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Samsung SH-W162Z Pioneer DVR-111 Benq DVD DW1640 LG DVDRAM GSA 4163B Pioneer DVR-212D LG-HL-DT-ST-BD-RE GGW-H20L



imgburn is simply the best burner program period

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Please consider DONATING a buck or two to help continue the improving of this excellent program, Imgburn Thanks

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

01001001011011010110011101100010011101010111001001101110001011000010000001010100
11010000110010101110010011001010010011101110011001000000110111001101111011101000
10100001101001011011100110011100100000010000100110010101110100011101000110010101
100100010000000100001


#3 lfcrule1972

lfcrule1972

    Liv 1 v 0 ManUre

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere....

Posted 28 January 2007 - 09:07 PM

Shit media most like and PS2's are real picky......

Also we can't help you with the subject of your post - sorry, even if it's legal in your country to back up your games circumventing copy protection isn't most places that this forum is read :)

Posted Image


For the ImgBurn Drives & Media reviews click here. Having trouble burning your dual layer discs ? Then check this out ! Want to interpret your disc scans ? Click here to read Corny's guide

Check out www.nomorecoasters.com or www.videohelp.com for media dye review. Check out SVP Communications for great deals on blank disc media. . To update your drives firmware check out www.rpc1.org . For an easy to follow guide for firmware updates click here for Shamus' guide. . For a guide to burning Dual Layer Disks with PgcEdit click here for blutach's guide.

#4 Murdoc

Murdoc

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 02:05 AM

Could you, post a log of the failed burn please. img>help>img logs>copy and paste. :thumbup: What brand name does that media code come from anyways? Never seen it before. :blink: :)


the program doesn't fail to write it, but the game simply doesn't load properly. It goes past the initial intro cinematics fine but when the game loads, it just stays loading. The brand name is e-blue, I'm not sure where it comes from.

#5 lfcrule1972

lfcrule1972

    Liv 1 v 0 ManUre

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere....

Posted 30 January 2007 - 08:47 AM

Shit media most like and PS2's are real picky......
:)

Check out Drives/Media section for reviews of the discs available to us for testing, I have never heard of the discs you are using and from the problems you are seeing I suggest they may be poor quality.

Verbatim and Taiyo Yuden discs are very reliable

Posted Image


For the ImgBurn Drives & Media reviews click here. Having trouble burning your dual layer discs ? Then check this out ! Want to interpret your disc scans ? Click here to read Corny's guide

Check out www.nomorecoasters.com or www.videohelp.com for media dye review. Check out SVP Communications for great deals on blank disc media. . To update your drives firmware check out www.rpc1.org . For an easy to follow guide for firmware updates click here for Shamus' guide. . For a guide to burning Dual Layer Disks with PgcEdit click here for blutach's guide.

#6 dontasciime

dontasciime

    Mood : Forgetfu

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,223 posts
  • Location:9.99

Posted 30 January 2007 - 10:46 AM

The brand name is e-blue, I'm not sure where it comes from


Which is why others have asked you for the log file so they can see the media code those disc's have or have faked.

Ps2 is as already mentioned very picky with media, having a crap laser does not help it either.

which way is the ps2 loading thru swap magic or dedicated chip ?

If swap magic that may be your problem and not the disc, try zoneloader if so.


Or try some other media, preferably good like suggested taiyo yuden or verb mcc

#7 Murdoc

Murdoc

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 03:36 PM

The brand name is e-blue, I'm not sure where it comes from


Which is why others have asked you for the log file so they can see the media code those disc's have or have faked.

Ps2 is as already mentioned very picky with media, having a crap laser does not help it either.

which way is the ps2 loading thru swap magic or dedicated chip ?

If swap magic that may be your problem and not the disc, try zoneloader if so.


Or try some other media, preferably good like suggested taiyo yuden or verb mcc


Perhaps it maybe bad media. I bought it when I went back to Asia so I guess it's not some American known brand. However, using that disk I'm able to back up another game though which is why I wonder why it wouldn't work for this one. My PS2 is already modded so I don't need swap magic.

#8 lfcrule1972

lfcrule1972

    Liv 1 v 0 ManUre

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere....

Posted 30 January 2007 - 03:38 PM

Bad media can be hit and miss, some work others don't ! Look in the Drives/Media forum for burns on different drives with the same media, some are consistently bad whereas others appear to burn ok.

Personally that frustration is too annoying for me so I go with the good discs - Verbatims and Taiyo Yudens that are available:

www.svp.co.uk - UK/Europe

www.meritline.com - USA

:)

Posted Image


For the ImgBurn Drives & Media reviews click here. Having trouble burning your dual layer discs ? Then check this out ! Want to interpret your disc scans ? Click here to read Corny's guide

Check out www.nomorecoasters.com or www.videohelp.com for media dye review. Check out SVP Communications for great deals on blank disc media. . To update your drives firmware check out www.rpc1.org . For an easy to follow guide for firmware updates click here for Shamus' guide. . For a guide to burning Dual Layer Disks with PgcEdit click here for blutach's guide.

#9 dontasciime

dontasciime

    Mood : Forgetfu

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,223 posts
  • Location:9.99

Posted 30 January 2007 - 03:48 PM

http://www.e-blue.jp/en/News/ViewNews.aspx?ID=108


some of there disc designs are fantastic

lovely this one http://www.e-blue.jp/en/Product/ViewProduc...&Ser_ID=254

Edited by dontasciime, 30 January 2007 - 03:50 PM.


#10 Murdoc

Murdoc

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 January 2007 - 03:56 PM

Samsung TSST SH-S182D is my DVD-Burner I'm using e-blue 1-8x DVD-R incase if you need that for reference.

Would Samsung Pleomax 8x DVD+R be good? I saw it on an online shop but it doesn't say the DVD CODE so I don't know which manufacture Samsung uses.

#11 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 30 January 2007 - 04:16 PM

Samsung pleomax discs have been tested in the 'drives & media' forum.

You can make up your own mind as to whether or not they'd be any good :)
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users