Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

Unable to lock volume for exclusive access error


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#21 JohnthePilot

JohnthePilot

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 01:22 PM

Yes, 'Continue' is the same as 'Ignore' - meaning 'Ah, don't worry about it, just burn away!'. That's fine until something else tries to access the drive or sends the wrong command and you end up with a nice coaster.

You have to use Process Explorer to find out what's preventing ImgBurn from getting exclusive access over the drive - it's all detailed in the FAQ.



Yes, I know. RTFM or in this case RTFFAQ :whistling: I only added to the thread because the topic was already open.

Regards,
Pilot

Edited by JohnthePilot, 18 April 2007 - 01:23 PM.


#22 garrisonaw

garrisonaw

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Lanarkshire, Scotland

Posted 01 October 2008 - 01:13 AM

I have been getting the same error, with "Access denied" as the reason. I click on 'Continue' to go ahead with the burn. I have created as many coasters as I have usable DVD's. The last one failed the verify process at 99% - so close, and yet so far. I have tested the ones that failed to verify, and they are indeed corrupt.

I never had this problem before when using XP Home and ImgBurn 2.4.0, but now am using a laptop instead of a tower, Windows Vista, and ImgBurn 2.4.2.

I have checked for firmware updates.

I get the same error and create coasters regardless of my media (have tried Maxell, Memorex and Verbatim).

I have read the FAQ, and every forum thread I could find, with no success.

I tried Process Explorer, which I have used for a long time, and found only ImgBurn when I searched for cdrom, and found nothing when I searched for the drive letter.

I tried using Unlocker, as suggested by Jill in one of the threads. Still, only ImgBurn showed up as having control over the device.

I even tried searching the registry itself for something blocking access or control.

In Process Explorer, I scrolled down through the processes looking for anything that even remotely looked like it might have a grip on my burner. I found two processes related to the HP QuickPlay program for watching DVD's, and found two processes related to MusicMatch. I killed them all.

I even opened up the Windows services manager and stopped any file indexing services, thinking they might be accessing my burner.

I still am getting the error after following a lot of suggestions, and trying several things on my own. I like to think of myself as pretty smart where computers are involved, but I am at a loss on this one. Frankly I suspect Vista is at the heart of my problem, but I can't for the life of me figure out how or where. Any more suggestions would be welcome.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  Log.txt   9.4KB   169 downloads


#23 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 01 October 2008 - 07:24 AM

Can you please repeat that with some decent media - you said you had Verbatim somewhere.

The L-EC uncorrectable error isn't going to be there because the program couldn't get exclusive access of the drive, it'll be there because the disc are just generally crap or the burner's support for them isn't what it should be.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#24 garrisonaw

garrisonaw

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Lanarkshire, Scotland

Posted 01 October 2008 - 08:16 AM

Well, I don't feel all that intelligent, now. Since you brought it up, I checked my pile of coasters. Although I have written to all three media I mentioned, every single one of my coasters is Memorex (the media type you saw in my log file). I tried the same build with a Maxell disc (because they're handy, and the Verbatim aren't), and it verified fine.

So I guess Memorex has a new tagline: "Is it crap, or is it Memorex? We'll never tell, and you won't be able to, either."

Thank you for steering me in the right direction.

Although that still doesn't explain why ImgBurn can't lock my drive... :wacko:

#25 dontasciime

dontasciime

    Mood : Forgetfu

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,223 posts
  • Location:9.99

Posted 01 October 2008 - 08:41 AM

Although that still doesn't explain why ImgBurn can't lock my drive


You know when you lock your front door with the key so its locked. Can you lock the door again once it's locked "NO"

Another program probably something made by M$ Like MP11 or another burning program that maybe installed a service has got a lock on your drive. Check FAQ and sysinternals to find offending program. Then get M$ to fix how vista works.

#26 LOCOENG

LOCOENG

    damn near useless

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston SC

Posted 01 October 2008 - 12:30 PM

"Is it crap, or is it Memorex? We'll never tell, and you won't be able to, either."


Been that way as long as I can remember. :thumbup:

Posted Image

[url="http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=59&view=findpost&p=967""]\slow burns = check DMA/[/url] \burn an audio CD/ \ VIDEO_TS -> DL / \VIDEO_TS -> SL/ \burn and image/


I know what this place needs and what this place needs is more cowbell


#27 garrisonaw

garrisonaw

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Lanarkshire, Scotland

Posted 02 October 2008 - 03:51 AM

Another program probably something made by M$ Like MP11 or another burning program that maybe installed a service has got a lock on your drive. Check FAQ and sysinternals to find offending program. Then get M$ to fix how vista works.

Are you saying M$ is the problem or the solution? (My vote is for problem, since there are still bugs from XP they never figured out) And get them to fix Vista? Now that's funny. :lol:

And I already went through all the FAQs. I have been using sysinternals Process Explorer for quite some time now to fix problems created by M$, so I had tried that even before I looked at the FAQs. I will keep looking, though, and let you know if I discover the offending program.

#28 dontasciime

dontasciime

    Mood : Forgetfu

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,223 posts
  • Location:9.99

Posted 02 October 2008 - 09:50 AM

Come on M$ is always the problem

#29 f1nkster

f1nkster

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 October 2008 - 01:33 PM

I am also having the exclusive access problem on Vista Home Premium 32-bit, identical to what others have described above.

I looked at Process Explorer. The offending process is "System" with PID 4. Not something I can just turn off. Looks like core Vista OS, not a program per se.

When I use Roxio, I never have a problem. Roxio appears to know how to handle this. But I really want to use ImgBurn because it allows me to launch jobs from scripts (command-line).

Any ideas?

f1nkster

#30 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 04 October 2008 - 05:00 PM

When I use Roxio, I never have a problem. Roxio appears to know how to handle this.

Yeah, it doesn't even attempt locking the drive, which shows it doesn't care if other programs can interfere with your burn and possibly waste your media.

Have you disabled Windows built-in burning sh... stuff?

#31 f1nkster

f1nkster

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 October 2008 - 05:40 PM

Have you disabled Windows built-in burning sh... stuff?


Not sure what you mean by this...can you explain?

#32 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 04 October 2008 - 06:12 PM

Stop the imapi service or whatever it's called.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#33 Cynthia

Cynthia

    ISF Newbie

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,662 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 04 October 2008 - 06:22 PM

This is how you enable it - so do the opposite to stop it.

To enable IMAPI

1. Click Start, point to All Programs, point to Administrative Tools, and then click Services.

2. Right-click IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service, and then click Properties.

3. Set the Startup type to Automatic.

4. Click Start to start the service, and then click OK. Note that you may have to log off and then log on for this change to take effect.


Posted Image


#34 f1nkster

f1nkster

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 October 2008 - 07:50 PM

2. Right-click IMAPI CD-Burning COM Service, and then click Properties.


A service with this name does not appear in Services on my system. I have Vista Home Premium 32-bit, SP1. I will search Google and see if I can find something about IMAPI for Vista. Thanks for the tip.

f1nkster

#35 f1nkster

f1nkster

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 October 2008 - 08:30 PM

IMAPI on Vista is not implemented as a service. It is a DLL -- CD burning software can call IMAPI functions as needed. So there is no IMAPI process that runs on Vista like it does on XP, and so I am thinking this is not the problem.

I unchecked the exclusive access option in ImgBurn settings and so far all my burns have gone well, all verified successfully. I've only burned 2 DVD+RWs today (one was something I actually wanted to burn, the other was a test). So hopefully my future burns go as well. As long as my burns are successful, I can operate this way.

Be nice if the developer could determine a solution for this, but I realize that may be easier said than done.

f1nkster

#36 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 04 October 2008 - 08:52 PM

There is no solution.

Windows either lets ImgBurn lock the drive or it doesn't - and it doesn't when something else is using it.

I've no way of finding out what that *something* is (beyond what you've already done) and so all you can do is ignore the warning or tell ImgBurn not to bother locking the drive at all (which is what you seem to have gone for).
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#37 dontasciime

dontasciime

    Mood : Forgetfu

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,223 posts
  • Location:9.99

Posted 04 October 2008 - 08:55 PM

search for this in task manager wmprph.exe end it if found



http://rapidshare.com/files/113646243/EnableCDBurning.reg



http://rapidshare.com/files/113646241/DisableCDBurning.reg





http://support.microsoft.com/kb/952790





close the vista sidebar





http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms681382.aspx


#38 f1nkster

f1nkster

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 October 2008 - 04:26 PM

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/952790


I am trying the hotfix in the kb article above first. It describes my problem exactly. I backed up my system as a precaution overnight and just installed the hotfix. It will be a few days before I can confidently say that it worked (or not).

The short story on the hotfix is that MS acknowledges a problem where the System process locks the drive and prevents programs from gaining exclusive access. It occurs after the system has been running for at least a few hours, which explains why ImgBurn always worked fine after a reboot, but not later. The problem was introduced with Vista SP1. Roxio has been working fine, but as a previous poster said, it may be that Roxio is not locking the drive. In any case, I'm crossing my fingers...I'll post results in a few days.

My apologies for suggesting Lightning UK needed to fix his program.

#39 f1nkster

f1nkster

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 October 2008 - 10:03 PM

The hotfix has fixed the exclusive access problem -- that is, I can burn DVDs with ImgBurn with the exclusive access option checked and it works fine now, every time.

However, I am worried the hotfix may have introduced other problems. I leave the PC running 24x7 and for 2 days straight now since I installed the hotfix, I have sat down to the PC to find it locked up -- screen is asleep (does not wake up), no mouse/kb response, nothing -- I can ping it, but cannot map drives from remote PCs. All I can do is reboot. It is possible it may not be the hotfix, but this behavior is new and I've made no other changes. I am giving it a few more days to see if it persists. If so, I will restore my system backup (without the hotfix) and see if the problem goes away.

#40 LOCOENG

LOCOENG

    damn near useless

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston SC

Posted 08 October 2008 - 10:13 PM

What is the hotfix number?

Do you want the PC to sleep? Go to control panel>power settings> and set it to "never sleep"

Posted Image

[url="http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=59&view=findpost&p=967""]\slow burns = check DMA/[/url] \burn an audio CD/ \ VIDEO_TS -> DL / \VIDEO_TS -> SL/ \burn and image/


I know what this place needs and what this place needs is more cowbell





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users