Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

How Do I Burn Xbox 360 Games


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
106 replies to this topic

#1 Nightly

Nightly

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 10:11 PM

I am trying to burn an Xbox 360 game to a DL disc and have tried to follow some of the guides that talk about burning .iso files to dual layer discs but I am not getting the same results as the guides say I should. I have the following files for the game I want to back up:

.dvd file - 1Kb
.iso file - 7,651,848 Kb
System Info file - 1Kb
.sfv file - 2Kb

I set Image Burn up to burn to build and output to device. The file system is set to ISO9660 + UDF. I loaded the folder containing all the files above and clicked the calculator button. I got a window back saying that the file was too large and that I should change the File System option to UDF only. I attempted to burn the image anyway but got a window that says I don't need to burn the image on a DL disc. I'm pretty confused at this point and could use some help.

Thanks!!
<_<

#2 Cynthia

Cynthia

    ISF Newbie

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,669 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 25 April 2008 - 10:18 PM

Hi and welcome to the forum, Nightly! :)

As you already have a done ISO file - there is no need to build one.

Select the 'Write' mode and load the .iso file. You need a DL disc to be able to burn the ISO file.

For the layer break - what kind of game is it for? xBox/Wii/Amiga?

Posted Image


#3 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 26 April 2008 - 12:14 AM

Follow this guide and select the .dvd file as the image to burn :)

#4 Cynthia

Cynthia

    ISF Newbie

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,669 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 26 April 2008 - 12:26 AM

Sorry. My bad. Posted Image

Thanks, mmalves! :)

Posted Image


#5 Nightly

Nightly

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 26 April 2008 - 03:01 AM

Thanks for the quick reply. I followed your instructions, was burning fine and the first pass was around 80% and then I got the an error (see the attachment). I clicked "try again", got the same error back, and then clicked "Continue" at which point Image Burn stopped the operation. I have cut and pasted the log here. Can you please tell me what I am doing wrong.

I 21:50:27 ImgBurn Version 2.4.1.0 started!
I 21:50:27 Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition (6.0, Build 6001 : Service Pack 1)
I 21:50:27 Total Physical Memory: 3,143,504 KB - Available: 1,667,632 KB
I 21:50:27 Initialising SPTI...
I 21:50:27 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 21:50:27 Found 1 DVD

Attached Images

  • burning_error.jpg


#6 LOCOENG

LOCOENG

    damn near useless

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston SC

Posted 26 April 2008 - 03:37 AM

I 21:52:31 Destination Media Type: DVD+R DL (Disc ID: CMC MAG-D01-00) (Speeds: 2.4x)


Shoddy media...you'll do yourself a favor to only buy Verbatim for DL burning.

Posted Image

[url="http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=59&view=findpost&p=967""]\slow burns = check DMA/[/url] \burn an audio CD/ \ VIDEO_TS -> DL / \VIDEO_TS -> SL/ \burn and image/


I know what this place needs and what this place needs is more cowbell


#7 Nightly

Nightly

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 02 May 2008 - 01:00 AM

I 21:52:31 Destination Media Type: DVD+R DL (Disc ID: CMC MAG-D01-00) (Speeds: 2.4x)


Shoddy media...you'll do yourself a favor to only buy Verbatim for DL burning.



Ok, I used a Verbatim DL disc and this time got the following error message at 19% completion mark. I am following the instructions above to burn a backup copy of my Xbox 360 game disc but so far have made two coasters. What am I doing wrong please? Also, I have been told by friends that I need to do something to my Xbox to enable it to play this copied disc properly. Can anyone confirm this and if true tell me where I can get instructions on what to do. Thanks!!

I 20:34:59 ImgBurn Version 2.4.1.0 started!
I 20:34:59 Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition (6.0, Build 6001 : Service Pack 1)
I 20:34:59 Total Physical Memory: 3,143,504 KB - Available: 1,998,328 KB
I 20:34:59 Initialising SPTI...
I 20:34:59 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 20:35:01 Found 1 DVD

Attached Images

  • burning_error_2.jpg


#8 Cynthia

Cynthia

    ISF Newbie

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,669 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 02 May 2008 - 01:30 AM

I 20:38:04 Write Speed: MAX

Try 4x.

Posted Image


#9 Altaaf

Altaaf

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 May 2008 - 07:55 AM

I 20:38:04 Write Speed: MAX

Try 4x.



hey Cynthia :)

Need a bit of help pretty please. I recently purchased GTA and wish to make a backup of it. I think i have almost got it right, but just need a bit of verification. I have the following:

1-Liteon DH-20A3S X8 Dual layer writer
2-Verbatim DVD+R/DL Matt Silver media - 8X Writable
3-A modded 360 (not sure what mod unfortunately nor what drive i have in my 360, and dont know how to find out?)

So i think i've half figured out what to do.

I have DVD Decrypter v3.5.4.0. This is what i used to rip GTA. After opening the application, i select Mode > ISO > Read. I then save the ISO to my NTFS drive. This results in a MDS file (a few kb in size) and a ISO file (just over 7 gb in size). I've read alot about a .DVD file required for IMGburn. However DVD Decryptor only outputs .ISO and .MDS. Am i doing something wrong?

To burn, i use IMGBurn 2.4.1.0 - Here, i set the layer break to 1913760 in the Settings > Write TAB. Then i booktype to DVD-ROM. Then, i select the MDS file. Is this correct? i've read alot of posts which speak about selecing a .DVD or .00 file, but DVD decrypter doesn't output these files. After that, i set the burn to 2.4 speed (i hear that a lower burn speed results in a better / more stable burn).

The game worked initially but after a while it froze and gave me a message about the disc being dirty, so now i just play the original instead. Out of curiousity, is the backup information above correct ? or have i done something wrong?

#10 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 11 May 2008 - 07:57 AM

Those discs are protected and nobody here will help you create an image of them.

You'll need to go elsewhere for that info.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#11 VluggeJapie

VluggeJapie

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 May 2008 - 02:22 PM

Sorry for my wrong English, I'm dutch...

I have some problems with Imgburn too. Before I used Imgburn, I used Clone CD, but that program burned too fast. So many DVD's failed.

I want to burn Xbox 360 games on Dual Layer DVD's. A friend of me helped me, but is on holiday now, so he can't. Now, my question is:

He told me about 'Layer Break'. I had to 'put it on' or something. Now I checked >tools >settings >general >layer break.

I could put on 2 'things:

Check 'Don't update IFO/BUP files'
Check 'Seamless'

What do I have to do now?

Tnx

#12 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 13 May 2008 - 02:25 PM

Use the default settings (you don't need to change anything) and follow this guide -> http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=61 (select the .dvd file as the image to burn)

#13 manny247

manny247

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:10 PM

hi basically ive followed da above approach that cynthia has suggested and selected da write files to disc

i used a verbatim dl disc 2.4x

it looked like it worked but when i plonked it in my xbox 360 it came up as mixed media disc,

any help guys please?

i would much appriciate it

#14 Zyber Sniper

Zyber Sniper

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:15 PM

hi basically ive followed da above approach that cynthia has suggested and selected da write files to disc

i used a verbatim dl disc 2.4x

it looked like it worked but when i plonked it in my xbox 360 it came up as mixed media disc,

any help guys please?

i would much appriciate it


Could be a Booktype/bitsetting problem.

#15 volvofl10

volvofl10

    LIVE from Italia...ciao bella, Forza Ferrari

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,776 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:48 PM

hi basically ive followed da above approach that cynthia has suggested and selected da write files to disc

i used a verbatim dl disc 2.4x

it looked like it worked but when i plonked it in my xbox 360 it came up as mixed media disc,

any help guys please?

i would much appriciate it



post a log file of the burn , otehrwise its just a guessing game for us
Dont be a cheapskate and buy poor quality media ,

FOR Dual layer discs use genuine Verbatims and nothing else , read this thread by LUK to see why Verbatim Dual layer DV9 thread

FOR Single layer DV5 use genuine Taiyo Yuden media everytime , ONLY TY's and not some other brand with TY dye/ink

DONT ask how to copy protected discs
DONT ask who LIGHTNING_UK is .......we only know him as .................."The Stig"

#16 manny247

manny247

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 December 2008 - 10:55 PM

hi basically ive followed da above approach that cynthia has suggested and selected da write files to disc

i used a verbatim dl disc 2.4x

it looked like it worked but when i plonked it in my xbox 360 it came up as mixed media disc,

any help guys please?

i would much appriciate it



post a log file of the burn , otehrwise its just a guessing game for us



as requested this is a log of the burn, it seems intact but only problem is that when i plonk it in my xbox, it comes up as mixed media disc. why is that?

I 21:33:07 ImgBurn Version 2.4.2.0 started!
I 21:33:07 Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition (6.0, Build 6001 : Service Pack 1)
I 21:33:07 Total Physical Memory: 914,896 KB - Available: 207,888 KB
I 21:33:07 Initialising SPTI...
I 21:33:07 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 21:33:07 Found 1 DVD

#17 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 28,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 09 December 2008 - 11:12 PM

Did you delete the .dvd file? If so, that was silly.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#18 manny247

manny247

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 December 2008 - 12:10 AM

Did you delete the .dvd file? If so, that was silly.


No i didnt, when i browsed for the files, i loaded the vts-mc.iso file which as u knw is a zipped up file and size wise its around 7 and a half gb, i only loaded that file,

what do i do with the dvd file

#19 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 10 December 2008 - 12:37 AM

The .dvd file tells ImgBurn where to place the layerbreak and the file is only a few bytes in size.

#20 manny247

manny247

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 December 2008 - 10:03 PM

The .dvd file tells ImgBurn where to place the layerbreak and the file is only a few bytes in size.


so basically what do i do guys, i write the files to disc, but when prompted to browse and pick a file, what file do i pick?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users