Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

creating audio cd from flac with embedded cue file


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 soylentgreen

soylentgreen

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 21 July 2008 - 11:58 PM

Am new to imgburn so please be gentle, I have sucessfully created a audio cd from mp3 files, however I cant from flac files, all my flacs files have an embedded cue file, I know burrn can create an audio cd from flac files with embedded cue, will there be an option soon to enable this in imgburn. If this was introduced then imgburn for me would be so perfect and fill all my burning and converting needs. :thumbup:

#2 Night_Raven

Night_Raven

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 July 2008 - 03:17 AM

ImgBurn already can write audio CDs from FLAC files (and practically any audio file for that matter). The trick is that you need DirectShow or ACM codec installed so ImgBurn can decompress the file to WAV. If you have a big codec pack like K-Lite Full or something like that, you should already have such a codec. Still, you could install CoreFLAC and see if that helps.

Edited by AliveNoMore, 22 July 2008 - 03:17 AM.

Proud ImgBurn user and creator of the bulgarian translation.

#3 soylentgreen

soylentgreen

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 22 July 2008 - 05:33 AM

ImgBurn already can write audio CDs from FLAC files (and practically any audio file for that matter). The trick is that you need DirectShow or ACM codec installed so ImgBurn can decompress the file to WAV. If you have a big codec pack like K-Lite Full or something like that, you should already have such a codec. Still, you could install CoreFLAC and see if that helps.

Thanks for the advice I downloaded the filter however imgburn only shows my flac file as one single track, as the flac is a album I would like it to show the individual tracks as it does in burrn, if I carry on with the process surely this will just create a audio cd with just one track.

#4 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,544 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 22 July 2008 - 08:26 AM

You burn a FLAC with Embedded CUE as if it were an image file - i.e. use Write mode.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#5 Night_Raven

Night_Raven

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 July 2008 - 01:56 PM

Some visual assistance :P :

Posted Image

Edited by AliveNoMore, 22 July 2008 - 01:57 PM.

Proud ImgBurn user and creator of the bulgarian translation.

#6 soylentgreen

soylentgreen

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 22 July 2008 - 06:21 PM

Some visual assistance :P :

Posted Image


Thanks guys it worked like a charm you are truly awasome. So correct me if am wrong basically if I have mp3s, muspack, wma files etc with a cue file I can just call up the cue file and write it to a cd to create a audio cd with all the tracks or in this case a flac file withe embedded cue. Or create a cue from audio files if they dont already have a cue file. So the key to making an audio cd is the cue file that replicates the tracks on to the cd. Looks like a bye bye to burrn. :thumbup: :D

#7 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,544 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 22 July 2008 - 06:59 PM

Yes, the CUE file is the important thing.

If you don't have one for a given set of files you can use ImgBurn to make one.

If it's embedded (and ImgBurn supports the file type as an image - i.e. can extract the embedded CUE from the audio file)), you can just try and load/burn the audio file directly as if it were an image.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#8 soylentgreen

soylentgreen

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 22 July 2008 - 07:08 PM

Yes, the CUE file is the important thing.

If you don't have one for a given set of files you can use ImgBurn to make one.

If it's embedded (and ImgBurn supports the file type as an image - i.e. can extract the embedded CUE from the audio file)), you can just try and load/burn the audio file directly as if it were an image.


Brilliant great stuff, now the only thing I need to get me head round is write speeds, not to sure what speed to burn audio cds at and what speed to do films at or am I better just leaving it on auto, thanx lighting you are a cool dude. Thanx also to the rest of you guys you have been most helpful. :thumbup: :thumbup:

#9 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,544 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 22 July 2008 - 07:12 PM

Auto doesn't really exist in the way you think it does... 'AUTO' just means that the program uses whatever speed you've configured in the 'Automatic Write Speed' feature.

There's a guide to explain what it does and how to use it.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users