Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

Lock Volume Failed


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 12:12 AM

Good Evening... The last few days have been getting the Lock Volume failed when using the latest version of ImageBurn. When I click on continue ...it proceeds to to a flawless burn. Did a searech and read the FAQ below.

www.sysinternals.com apparently no longer a functioning website. Can't find any other program using the drive....as I said --- I am happy with the outcome...just wondering what's going on.
Thanks in advance



Problem:
You get an error saying 'Unable to lock volume for exclusive access'

A.K.A. 'DeviceIoControl(FSCTL_LOCK_VOLUME) Failed!'

If the 'Reason' given is 'Access is denied' (or words to that effect)

Another program is currently using the drive. You need to find out what it is and shut it down!

The only way I know of finding out what else has a 'handle' open to the drive is by using Process Explorer from www.sysinternals.com

#2 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 08 April 2008 - 12:15 AM

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinte...s/bb896653.aspx <- Process Explorer

#3 blutach

blutach

    Not quite as big a bastard as Shamus. Hoping to improve

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:DVDs, Chess

Posted 08 April 2008 - 12:34 AM

Sysinternals redirects to Microsoft's site, which contains all the progs. In fact, a new version of Process Explorer was released yesterday.

Regards


#4 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 01:51 AM

Blutach/Mmalves...Thanks so much for your replies. Downloaded and ran the prog,but cannot for the life of me see any indication of any other driver running in the background!
As I said...once I hit the Continue tab the burn resumes uninterrupted. Just can't figure out what and why now. Only additional software I've installed recently was for a Logitech Webcam.
Thanks again

Sysinternals redirects to Microsoft's site, which contains all the progs. In fact, a new version of Process Explorer was released yesterday.

Regards



#5 LOCOENG

LOCOENG

    damn near useless

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston SC

Posted 08 April 2008 - 01:54 AM

How are you arriving at Imgburn? In other words is it called upon by another program or are you opening it and choosing a pre-existing file from your HDD?

Posted Image

[url="http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=59&view=findpost&p=967""]\slow burns = check DMA/[/url] \burn an audio CD/ \ VIDEO_TS -> DL / \VIDEO_TS -> SL/ \burn and image/


I know what this place needs and what this place needs is more cowbell


#6 blutach

blutach

    Not quite as big a bastard as Shamus. Hoping to improve

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:DVDs, Chess

Posted 08 April 2008 - 01:57 AM

In Process Explorer, do a find. Type in "Cdrom" and see what the results are. Kill the thread for anything other than ImgBurn

Regards


#7 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 02:01 AM

How are you arriving at Imgburn? In other words is it called upon by another program or are you opening it and choosing a pre-existing file from your HDD?


Locoeng
I am opening from a Desk Top Short Cut which is what I've been doing since the first version of Image Burn came out.
If it helps at all -----below is a log from my last burn:


;
;
; //****************************************\\
; ImgBurn Version 2.4.1.0 - Log
; Monday, 07 April 2008, 20:37:52
; \\****************************************//
;
;
I 20:12:38 ImgBurn Version 2.4.1.0 started!
I 20:12:38 Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 2)
I 20:12:38 Total Physical Memory: 981,488 KB - Available: 354,604 KB
W 20:12:38 Drive D:\ (FAT32) does not support single files > 4 GB in size.
I 20:12:38 Initialising SPTI...
I 20:12:38 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 20:12:38 Found 2 DVD

#8 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 02:06 AM

In Process Explorer, do a find. Type in "Cdrom" and see what the results are. Kill the thread for anything other than ImgBurn

Regards


Blutach...followed your recommendation. Nothing came up at all.

#9 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 02:16 AM

In Process Explorer, do a find. Type in "Cdrom" and see what the results are. Kill the thread for anything other than ImgBurn

Regards


Blutach...followed your recommendation. Nothing came up at all.


Also tried to launch ImgBurn from :
C:\Program Files\ImgBurn....but got the same Nag. Continued and burned successful.

#10 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 02:27 AM

In Process Explorer, do a find. Type in "Cdrom" and see what the results are. Kill the thread for anything other than ImgBurn

Regards


Blutach...followed your recommendation. Nothing came up at all.


Also tried to launch ImgBurn from :
C:\Program Files\ImgBurn....but got the same Nag. Continued and burned successful.

Blutach...tried your suggestion one more time and this is what popped up....

DMASched...3704 Handle \Device\CdRom1

Do I really want to kill this thread???

#11 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 02:55 AM

In Process Explorer, do a find. Type in "Cdrom" and see what the results are. Kill the thread for anything other than ImgBurn

Regards


Blutach...followed your recommendation. Nothing came up at all.


Also tried to launch ImgBurn from :
C:\Program Files\ImgBurn....but got the same Nag. Continued and burned successful.

Blutach...tried your suggestion one more time and this is what popped up....

DMASched...3704 Handle \Device\CdRom1

Do I really want to kill this thread???




Anyone think a system restore could solve this?
As long as this isn't a harbinger of something worse... I can deal with a two second interruption in my burning process.

#12 blutach

blutach

    Not quite as big a bastard as Shamus. Hoping to improve

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:DVDs, Chess

Posted 08 April 2008 - 05:24 AM

Is something trying to reset your DMA perhaps? Kill the handle and try again.

Regards


#13 lfcrule1972

lfcrule1972

    Liv 1 v 0 ManUre

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere....

Posted 08 April 2008 - 07:31 AM

I think I would prefer to just "ignore" the warning than do a systems restore but then I am lazy :lol: Let us know how you get on after killing that DMASched...3704 Handle \Device\CdRom1

Posted Image


For the ImgBurn Drives & Media reviews click here. Having trouble burning your dual layer discs ? Then check this out ! Want to interpret your disc scans ? Click here to read Corny's guide

Check out www.nomorecoasters.com or www.videohelp.com for media dye review. Check out SVP Communications for great deals on blank disc media. . To update your drives firmware check out www.rpc1.org . For an easy to follow guide for firmware updates click here for Shamus' guide. . For a guide to burning Dual Layer Disks with PgcEdit click here for blutach's guide.

#14 dunlop

dunlop

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 08 April 2008 - 01:20 PM

I think I would prefer to just "ignore" the warning than do a systems restore but then I am lazy :lol: Let us know how you get on after killing that DMASched...3704 Handle \Device\CdRom1


Eureka....thanks to all for your suggestions and links. Killed the :DMASched...3704 Handle \Device\CdRom1 and ImgBurn went right through the process without the nag. Apparently the conflict was coming from Sonic Express which is a DVD Cover/Label printer. You guys and gals rock!

#15 blutach

blutach

    Not quite as big a bastard as Shamus. Hoping to improve

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Interests:DVDs, Chess

Posted 08 April 2008 - 09:45 PM

Glad to see it worked. As an aside, you should not put adhesive labels on your DVDs.

Regards


#16 IsraelS

IsraelS

    ISF Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 April 2008 - 12:09 AM

I am having the same "locked" problem with the lates release. I never had any problem before. I will try the "colntinue" option and see what happens.

#17 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 09 April 2008 - 12:12 AM

I am having the same "locked" problem with the lates release. I never had any problem before. I will try the "colntinue" option and see what happens.

Please :rtf:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users