Help for a newbie?

michael_maberly

Hi,

I'm completely new to ImgBurn, and am still not quite sure how to use it, despite having read the Guides. If anyone can point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful. Here's my situation:

I successfully ran a 2005 Sony DVD through DVDFABHDDecrypter, which saved it as a large number of .VOB, .BUP and .IFO files on my HD.

I then tried to process those files in DVDShrink, but only got 97% of the way through, when it gave me this error message:

"DVD Shrink encountered an error and cannot continue. Programming error - exception occured."

I then downloaded ImgBurn, chose "write" mode, and pointed it to the DVDFAB folder on my HD, but received a message stating that those kinds of files require the "burn" mode, and that I'd better read the Guide on burn mode before proceeding. Unfortunately, I've no idea what the various file types are, nor where I really am in the burning process, so I'm unable to understand where my situation fits into the burn mode Guide directives. I assumed that ImgBurn would take the place of DVDShrink's function, but I could very well be wrong.

Which brings me back here. Anyone out there got a spare lifejacket?

Thanks!

- Michael

You need to use Build mode, for which you can find a guide in this post of the Guides section: ImgBurn Build Mode

Thanks, mmalves. I'd meant to write "Build" mode, but had written "burn" mode :blush:

The "Build mode" guide is full of references that I don't understand. Here are some of them - and some related questions - if anyone has the spare time to help me understand them:

ISO: ??

Output mode: will ImgBurn both compress/layer (?) the files and burn them to DVD if I select "save to DVD", or must this be done in two steps? If in two steps, how?

file system: man, I need help with this! I've no idea what determines which file system to use.