ISOs, MDS, I00, I01

judy1940

Hi,

I am very new to IMGBURN, and new also to the wonderful world of video discs.

I created a disk through a slideshow program that works on a DVD player, or a computer. To that disk I wished to add an AVI file, and a couple of other things. Piece of cake, a file is a file, yes? Turns out no, and that is how I was guided to your product.

I have produced two disks that work and one that doesn't on my DVD player (but does on the computer). The latter was when I put the AVI file in the root directory. I moved it to a folder and that seemed to work. There was a message that said as I had the AVI file there it was assumed that this was some sort of a different disk and that IMGBURN would set the parameters accordingly. I didn't understand the message so made a coaster essentially.

I start by a build reading from the created disk that works, and adding files to it. I then say I want to create and ISO file and give it a name and directory. There is never an ISO file in the directory, but instead MDS, I00, I01 files. To burn it appears to only want the MDS file. This is rather confusing to me and I didn't see it in the guide, nor find an answer by searching the forum. It appeared that some got their MDS file elsewhere.

Anyhow, after doing this I switch to burn and as there is no ISO file use the MDS file.

Questions are:

1. Am I going through extra steps given that I do have a VIDEO and AUDIO folder created by the other program?

2. Can you have an avi file in the root directory

3. I want this disk to work on MACS and PCs -- will it?

4. Any pointers, guides as to what these different files are. Most people seem to be ahead of me and googling hasn't helped all that much.

Thanks!

Judy

ImgBurn doesn't convert anything, it burns as-is.

So unless you want an AVI on your final disc, you need to convert said AVI file to DVD Video format (A VIDEO_TS folder with IFO/BUP/VOB files in it) before you try and use ImgBurn.