HL-DT-ST BD-RE BT10F problem

parmo

I was wondering if someone could help me. I tried to burn a DL Blu ray using imgburn but it failed. (see attached log).  After looking around online I found that the only real option is to update the drives firmware.  I've never done this before but I'm struggling to find what firmware I need for my drive;

HL-DT-ST BD-RE BT10F

imgburn says i'm currently using firmware DT03-00

I tried searching firmware HQ but it brings up 256 results, so I don't know what I should do.  Can anyone help?

ImgBurn.log

The problem with finding USB burner firmer is you'll probably NEVER find it.  I've NEVER found a single firmware update for ANY external USB burner I've ever had.  The problem is in most cases an external drive is just an internal drive inside an enclosure.  However, the disc ID string is modified to represent a different drive.

Since you're using a USB drive, I have to ask if it's a slim drive or a full size drive?  If it's a slim drive, that's most likely your problem.  Slim drives are junk.  Try a full size drive.

Did you try using ImgBurn's check for firmware?  In Read or Write mode, right click on the drive in the drop down list and choose the last option, Check for firmware updates.  This is probably the best option you'll have for limiting the results.  Unless, of course, this is what you already did and that brought up the web page with the results.  I don't know if you did the search manually from the ImgBurn log's return of your firmware revision string or not.