burning a double layer or dual layer disc

dougw2007

I have been burning discs on three different home computers for the last two years. These are movie dvds and I have been using Ridata 16x printables. I would say that in doing about 100 to 150 a month I get maybe one bad one every two months.

Now I have decided to get in to the double layer process to put more on one disc. I first purchase dvd - RDL. I quickly found out that these are no good because none of my burners supports them. So I got + rDL and I went into Nero and burned the first one. It verified and plays well. I burned another and and it worked. When I went to burn more they all are failing verification. So I got imgburn and burned some with it. I think I got one good one but all the rest fail. I have to do more checking but one of the ones that failed seems to play fine in the computer. Or at least I can not find the problem, it has 8 hours of video on it.

My question is; should I just forget the idea of using dl discs? I see where it takes 30 minutes to burn and if you are only going to get one or two good ones out of twenty they are very expensive.

I am wondering if I should some how go into the video and try to set a layer break in the editing process? Would that help?

I tried to burn a image of the video files and that completed successfully but when I tried to burn that it failed.

I will attach my log files

I think the first one I am showing is a failed burn of video files.

//****************************************\\

; ImgBurn Version 2.4.2.0 - Log

; Friday, 23 January 2009, 21:19:35

; \\****************************************//

;

;

I 19:16:19 ImgBurn Version 2.4.2.0 started!

I 19:16:19 Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 2)

I 19:16:19 Total Physical Memory: 2,095,596 KB - Available: 1,569,340 KB

I 19:16:19 Initialising SPTI...

I 19:16:19 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...

I 19:16:19 Found 1 DVD