Verbatim 8x DVD-R [TYG02]

chewy

I've had much better scans w/ TYG02's burned at 8X over 12 or 16X, doesn't matter if Plex716 or NEC3520, haven't tried the BenQ1655 yet. TYG03's burned at 16X don't scan as nice as TYG02's at 8X, but they're better than TYG02's at 16X, and there was some improvement the more I burned, learning firmware?

learning firmware?

now that's a ghost I have been chasing for over 3 months

And what conclusion did you arrive at?

There's something to that theory(hypothesis), but every time I think I have caught the devil,

media inconsistency lets him go and the chase begins all over. That's why I call him a ghost.

I am gonna defintely scan all burns with all media when NEC releases new firmware for the 3550.

Or I get that other ghost, my Benq 1650.

I've had much better scans w/ TYG02's burned at 8X over 12 or 16X, doesn't matter if Plex716 or NEC3520, haven't tried the BenQ1655 yet. TYG03's burned at 16X don't scan as nice as TYG02's at 8X, but they're better than TYG02's at 16X, and there was some improvement the more I burned, learning firmware?

After rereading this, I would like to add, my TYG03 seems to be slightly better media than my TYG02,

but my TYG01 beat both of them at 8x, notice I used past tense, they are all gone! Of course this is just

a few percentage points in the upper 90's. After scanning 50-60 old disks this week, a 96 doesn't seem much different from a 98. When you scan a year old ritek G05, it puts it all in perspective. When the disk hits zero less than halfway thru the scan.