Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

ImgBurn's 'Medium Changer Control' hangs on 'Scan All'



  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 swest

swest

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Goodyear, AZ

Posted 02 February 2016 - 11:01 PM

Greetings,

 

First, I enabled 'Medium Changers', then I went to:  Tools -> Changer -> Medium Changer Control..

 

The new window displayed my Changer:

 

[0:0:0] Sony VAIOChanger1 0100 (1394)

 

which is, as you might infer, a Sony VGP-XL1B.

 

Interestingly, below the little 'Devices' pulldown, the four informational lines are:

 

First Transport Element Address: 0 (Total: 1)

First Storage Element Address: 4...203 (Total:200)

First Import/Export Element Address: 1 (Total:1)

First Transfer Element Address: 2 (Total: 1)

 

I'm not sure what the 4...203 signifies.  I mean, I guess I would have expected 1...200 (?)  But, then, I have no idea what that information is really telling me anyway, so I don't know why it should surprise me ;-).

 

Anyway, below that the Drives and Slots appear to be correct:

 

Drive  Media Present   Source Slot

1      Unknown         Unknown

 

 

Slot   Media Present

001    Unknown

002    Unknown

.

.

200    Unknown

 

So far, so good.

 

The trouble comes when I request it to 'Scan All' the slots.  It starts out fine, and then gets to a certain point and displays:

 

Slot   Media Present

001    No

002    No

003    Scanning...

 

in the Slots window, and:

 

Scanning Slot 3 of 200...

 

at the bottom left.

 

(Interestingly, the first time I tried this, it got to slot 7, now it only ever gets to slot 3.)

 

Clicking on Cancel, or attempting to close the window with the 'x' are ineffectual ('Medium Changer Control (Not Responding)'), as is killing it with the Task Manager.  The only way to get rid of it is to reset the machine.

 

The ImgBurn Log contains nothing after the Informational messages about discovery:

 

.

.

15:32:20 Initialising SPTI...

15:32:20 Searching for Medium Changer devices...

15:32:20 -> Medium Changer 1 - Info: Sony VAIOChanger1 0100

15:32:20 Found 1 Medium Changer!

15:32:20 Searching for SCSI/ATAPI devices...

15:32:20 -> Drive 1 - Info: HL-DT-ST BDDVDRW GGC-H20L 1.03(G:)(ATA)

15:32:20 -> Drive 2 - Info: MATSHITA DVD-RAM SW-9584 B100(H:)(1394)

15:32:20 Found 1 DVD±RW/RAM and 1 BD-ROM/HD DVD-ROM/DVD±RW!

 

??

 

- s.west



#2 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 02 February 2016 - 11:53 PM

I expect this is more of a system issue.

The scanning is just done in a loop, so it would not work at all if there was a problem.

Perhaps try another FireWire cable?
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#3 swest

swest

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Goodyear, AZ

Posted 03 February 2016 - 12:26 AM

Thanks for your response, and I'm sorry, I should have prefaced that with some additional info... 

 

This changer has been working 'fine' (I'll explain the quotes around fine in a moment) with the {EZ Changer 1.1 + DVDDecrypter} combination for bulk-ripping my DVD library.

 

The reason I say that it has been working 'fine' is that it, from time-to-time, will spit out a string of failures that I have to deal with manually.  And by manually, I mean that I tell the changer to mount a DVD, and after AnyDVD HD has scanned it, I click on AnyDVD HD's 'rip to ISO', and I'm done.  Frankly, I wish I could figure out a way of automating that process, because AnyDVD HD is a lot faster than DVDDecrypter...

 

Anyway, the point I'm trying to make is that the changer and its DVD drive appear to be healthy, and usable...  just not by ImgBurn.

 

Thoughts?



#4 swest

swest

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Goodyear, AZ

Posted 03 February 2016 - 12:38 AM

Another data point...  The changer was already loaded with DVDs that I had been attempting to process with DVDDecrypter.  And it is populated with all the data from the previous operation: Disc Type, Disc Label, Disc ID, for the ~75 DVDs that are loaded.

 

Which, by the way, I now realize might explain that mysterious:

 

First Storage Element Address: 4...203 (Total:200)

 

because slots 1-3 and 6 are empty.  I ejected those DVDs earlier.

 

In order to clear the Changer's data, I guess I would have to unload all 75 DVDs...

 

I suppose I could do that, and give it a try again with an empty Changer.

 

?

 

- s.west


Edited by swest, 03 February 2016 - 12:38 AM.


#5 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 03 February 2016 - 06:19 AM

What you should do is enable I/o debug mode before going into the changer control and pressing the scan button.

From what I recall, all it's doing is loading the disc from slot X, waiting a while for it to become ready, unloading again and preceding to test the next one.

It looks to me as if those commands are getting stuck on your system for some reason.

The debug enabled log file may shed more light.

Enable I/o debug mode by pressing F8 or by going into the settings and enabling it on the I/o tab.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#6 swest

swest

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Goodyear, AZ

Posted 03 February 2016 - 07:23 AM

Will do.

 

Thanks!

 

- s.west



#7 swest

swest

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Goodyear, AZ

Posted 03 February 2016 - 08:08 AM

Uhh...  Sorry to be a pain, but I don't find a 'debug mode' button, and pressing F8 doesn't appear to have any effect (at least, nothing shows up in the log that I do get).

 

I looked through all the settings screens, and didn't find it.  I'm a little tired, but I don't think I'm so tired that I wouldn't see something related to debug mode.

 

Page 1 of I/O settings:

 

ImgBurn1.JPG

 

Page 2 of I/O settings:

 

ImgBurn2.JPG

 

Execution log file:

; //****************************************\\
;   ImgBurn Version 2.5.8.0 - Log
;   Wednesday, 03 February 2016, 00:54:45
; \\****************************************//
;
;
I 00:51:13 ImgBurn Version 2.5.8.0 started!
I 00:51:13 Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64 Edition (6.1, Build 7601 : Service Pack 1)
I 00:51:13 Total Physical Memory: 25,156,688 KiB  -  Available: 21,899,500 KiB
W 00:51:13 Drive W:\ (FAT32) might not support single files > 4 GiB in size.
W 00:51:13 Drive X:\ (FAT32) might not support single files > 4 GiB in size.
W 00:51:13 AnyDVD can interfere with ImgBurn's ability to verify accurately, please ensure it's disabled!
I 00:51:13 Initialising SPTI...
I 00:51:13 Searching for Medium Changer devices...
I 00:51:13 -> Medium Changer 1 - Info: Sony VAIOChanger1 0100 (1394)
I 00:51:13 Found 1 Medium Changer!
I 00:51:13 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 00:51:14 -> Drive 1 - Info: HL-DT-ST BDDVDRW GGC-H20L 1.03 (G:) (ATA)
I 00:51:14 -> Drive 2 - Info: MATSHITA DVD-RAM SW-9584 B100 (H:) (1394)
I 00:51:14 Found 1 DVD±RW/RAM and 1 BD-ROM/HD DVD-ROM/DVD±RW!
I 00:54:45 Close Request Acknowledged
I 00:54:45 Closing Down...
I 00:54:45 Shutting down SPTI...
I 00:54:45 ImgBurn closed!
;
;
; //****************************************\\
;   ImgBurn Version 2.5.8.0 - Log
;   Wednesday, 03 February 2016, 00:50:44
; \\****************************************//
;
;
I 00:50:05 ImgBurn Version 2.5.8.0 started!
I 00:50:05 Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64 Edition (6.1, Build 7601 : Service Pack 1)
I 00:50:05 Total Physical Memory: 25,156,688 KiB  -  Available: 21,891,064 KiB
W 00:50:05 Drive W:\ (FAT32) might not support single files > 4 GiB in size.
W 00:50:05 Drive X:\ (FAT32) might not support single files > 4 GiB in size.
W 00:50:06 AnyDVD can interfere with ImgBurn's ability to verify accurately, please ensure it's disabled!
I 00:50:06 Initialising SPTI...
I 00:50:06 Searching for Medium Changer devices...
I 00:50:06 -> Medium Changer 1 - Info: Sony VAIOChanger1 0100 (1394)
I 00:50:06 Found 1 Medium Changer!
I 00:50:06 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
I 00:50:06 -> Drive 1 - Info: HL-DT-ST BDDVDRW GGC-H20L 1.03 (G:) (ATA)
I 00:50:06 -> Drive 2 - Info: MATSHITA DVD-RAM SW-9584 B100 (H:) (1394)
I 00:50:06 Found 1 DVD±RW/RAM and 1 BD-ROM/HD DVD-ROM/DVD±RW!
I 00:50:44 Close Request Acknowledged
I 00:50:44 Closing Down...
I 00:50:44 Shutting down SPTI...
I 00:50:44 ImgBurn closed!

Edited by swest, 03 February 2016 - 08:08 AM.


#8 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 03 February 2016 - 05:31 PM

You need to be on the main ImgBurn window, then press F8. It'll say it has been enabled in the log window.

I must have removed the checkbox in the settings. Oh well!
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#9 swest

swest

    ISF Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Goodyear, AZ

Posted 03 February 2016 - 06:12 PM

Yes, this time the F8 worked (I sure thought I was in the main window when I pressed F8 before...  ahh, well).

 

That's the good news.

 

The bad news is, of course, that turning on debug allows it to work (or, at least, it doesn't hang).

 

I will now continue with my original plan (which is going to take me a while to figure out), and report my final results later.

 

Thanks.

 

- s.west



#10 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 29,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 03 February 2016 - 10:47 PM

Debug mode does nothing more than log what's happening, so I stand by my initial post - Your system as a whole is getting stuck processing a command.

Keep scanning, maybe it'll run into the same issue even when logging is enabled and then we'll be able to see what isn't being processed correctly.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users