Jump to content

ImgBurn Support Forum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Burning an Xbox 360 image


Forum Rules

Read the Guides forum if you don't know how to do something. :readbook:
If you have a question or a problem, check the FAQ and use the Search to see if you can find the answer for yourself. :lightbulb:
If you're having trouble burning double layer media, read Here.
Still stuck? Create a new thread and describe your issue in detail.
Make sure you include a copy of the program's log in your post. No log = :chair:


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_as7r080y_*

Guest_as7r080y_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 February 2008 - 04:58 AM

hi guys,

just wondering if the layer break setting set to L0 = 1913760
really needs to be done to burn the xbox 360 images.

up till now ive been using this setting, however

today i burnt an image and forgot to enter the layer break settings
and the game works fine in the 360 so im wondering if it actually
is needed at all ? the settings it was on at the time of burning
was Calculate Optimal.

cheers

#2 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 29 February 2008 - 05:02 AM

Yes, for X360 games the layer break must be at 1,913,760 sectors; however, if you burnt the image from the .dvd file (as you should :P) then that file told ImgBurn to set the layer break at 1,913,760 (open the .dvd file in Notepad and you'll see :)).

#3 Guest_as7r080y_*

Guest_as7r080y_*
  • Guests

Posted 29 February 2008 - 05:04 AM

there you go nice and easy answer, yes the .dvd file is always loaded ;)

i was curious all this time wether imgburn actually used this information in the .dvd file
which of now it seems it does, so i can infact leave it to the default settings and just
load the .dvd file from now on and bobs your uncle...

thanks for clearing that up :)

#4 mmalves

mmalves

    resident n00b

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,094 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Itu - SP - Brazil

Posted 29 February 2008 - 05:09 AM

If the layer break in the settings is manually set to a value, and that value isn't the same as the .dvd/.mds file, ImgBurn will warn you of the different values and won't start the burn, thus saving you from wasting a disc :)

#5 luv10069

luv10069

    ISF Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 March 2008 - 06:15 PM

hi guys,

just wondering if the layer break setting set to L0 = 1913760
really needs to be done to burn the xbox 360 images.

up till now ive been using this setting, however

today i burnt an image and forgot to enter the layer break settings
and the game works fine in the 360 so im wondering if it actually
is needed at all ? the settings it was on at the time of burning
was Calculate Optimal.

cheers

what type of dvd burner do you have?

#6 Overfiend

Overfiend

    ISF Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Londonderry Northern Ireland

Posted 22 March 2008 - 07:27 PM

Hi guys. Right here goes. I've a game for 360 which i've downloaded and want to burn to disc for the mate that asked me to download as his disc is damaged.

1st off i know nothing about burning theses discs as i've already wasted 3 dual layered discs. I used Nero which from what i gather was 1st mistake. I have the iso of the game and a .dvd file. Nero or dvd decrypter will use the .dvd file, however ImgBurn will.
My 1st three attempts were basically run throughs and i just loaded img to nero and burned at slowest speed (4X).

My main question is if i load the .Dvd file using ImgBurn and burn the disc will it work. Its a USA game, region free. Also if anyone can point me to a comprehensive guide thats helps getting started with this sort of s**t. Any help appreciated guys, as you can imagine i don't want 3 failed burns to turn into 4 or 5.

Incidentally here's a list of my optical drives supported features as knowing my luck it'll have a support problem or something :)

Device Description ATAPI DVD A DH20A3H
Supported Disk Types
BD-ROM Not Supported
BD-R Not Supported
BD-RE Not Supported
HD DVD-ROM Not Supported
HD DVD-R Not Supported
HD DVD-RW Not Supported
DVD-ROM Read
DVD+R9 Dual Layer Read + Write
DVD+R Read + Write
DVD+RW Read + Write
DVD-R9 Dual Layer Read + Write
DVD-R Read + Write
DVD-RW Read + Write
DVD-RAM Read + Write
CD-ROM Read
CD-R Read + Write
CD-RW Read + Write

Optical Drive Features
Buffer Underrun Protection Supported
C2 Error Pointers Supported
CD+G Not Supported
CD-Text Supported
Hybrid Disc Not Supported
JustLink Supported
LabelFlash Not Supported
Layer-Jump Recording Supported
LightScribe Supported
Mount Rainier Not Supported
SMART Not Supported
CSS Supported
CPRM Supported
AACS Not Supported
VCPS Not Supported
BD CPS Not Supported


Once again guys thanks for any advice given, I'd really appreciate any help with this

#7 LIGHTNING UK!

LIGHTNING UK!

    Author of ImgBurn

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 22 March 2008 - 07:50 PM

Put it this way, if it doesn't work, it won't be anything to do with ImgBurn.

Your drive is fine.

Make sure the firmware on it is up-to-date and that you're using decent quality double layer discs - which basically means Verbatim 2.4x DVD+R DL (MKM-001-00 dye) made in Singapore.
Please don't PM me with questions that should be posted in the forum. I won't reply - Especially if you have post count of 0!!!

Replies to posts belong in the forum where everyone can read them. Please don't PM them.

In fact, don't PM me at all unless it's something I've asked to be told about!

Before asking questions, search the forum to see if someone else already has.

Use the FAQ and Guides forums to your advantage. I don't want to have to tell you to read them!

#8 LOCOENG

LOCOENG

    damn near useless

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston SC

Posted 22 March 2008 - 07:54 PM

Try here: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/359114

Posted Image

[url="http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=59&view=findpost&p=967""]\slow burns = check DMA/[/url] \burn an audio CD/ \ VIDEO_TS -> DL / \VIDEO_TS -> SL/ \burn and image/


I know what this place needs and what this place needs is more cowbell


#9 Overfiend

Overfiend

    ISF Newbie

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Londonderry Northern Ireland

Posted 22 March 2008 - 11:24 PM

thanks for comments guys, I'll check out that guide LOCOENG, thanks.

#10 LOCOENG

LOCOENG

    damn near useless

  • Beta Team Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston SC

Posted 23 March 2008 - 12:06 AM

Cheers

Posted Image

[url="http://forum.imgburn.com/index.php?showtopic=59&view=findpost&p=967""]\slow burns = check DMA/[/url] \burn an audio CD/ \ VIDEO_TS -> DL / \VIDEO_TS -> SL/ \burn and image/


I know what this place needs and what this place needs is more cowbell





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users