ImgBurn newbie - Are these the best settings?

ojed4r

Hi! ImgBurn newbie here :)

Since this is my first time using the program  I've been looking for tips when burning different types of discs, these are usual recommendations that I've found and I would like to know if I'm on the right track and if these settings are safe to use:

*The recommended speed for burning DVDs and Blu-Rays is 4x as using the lowest speed or above 4x is not safe. However, I've read that for M-Disc the recommended speed is 2x, should I use that one or 4x is sufficient?

*Before burning, it is better to convert the data to an .iso and burn it,
or can I just drag up data the data and move it to the blank disc and then burn it?

*When burning double layered DVDs, you have to set the "layer break" to 1913760, is that correct?

*I've read that you have to select UDF over ISO9660 as there might be some issues
when reading discs on Windows 7, which UDF should I pick: 2.60 or 2.50?

*I have some music files named with special characters like "?" , will there be an issue with those files
after burning? For non-unicode file names is there something that I need to keep in mind?

*For blanks, Verbatim seems the best choice, but do Sony's have good quality as well?
For DVDs, should I pick DVD-R or DVD+R?

*And this might be off-topic and kinda a dumb question but for labeling discs can I use a marker like Sharpie or it has to be a special one? I've read that for DVDs and Blu-Rays it's fine if you use a sharpie but for CD-Rs is not recommended because the ink can pass through the layer and damage the data, is that true?

That's what I've gathered so far, are there other useful tips that I'm missing?

Thank you!

Some of the answers:

It's not necessary to create an ISO first.  However, if you don't and your burn fails, you have to go through the entire process you just went through of beginning the burn all over again.  If you create an ISO first, you just start the ISO burn again.