Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
imwul

Kaspersky Warning

Recommended Posts

I know it is not a big issue (I click on "Yes, I trust") , but maybe this can be solved in a future release?

 

Just a suggestion.

 

The confusing things is that this popup shows up, even though I had not launched IMGBurn.

"Detected a potentially dangerous modification of the application". . .

 

Users might wonder..: "What modification?"

 

 

Imageburn-KasperskyWarning-2011-01-24_185717.jpg

 

TIA

=

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nop.

 

Haven't the faintest idea what it is. :)

 

That aside

fileproperties:

 

IMGBurn.exe = 2.611.712 bytes

v.2.5.4.0

 

Nothing has changed, as far as I can see, contrary to what the warning says I mean.

 

brgds

==

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ImgBurn 2.5.5.0 is the current supported version.

 

I know, will install that later, but assume the warning does not have anything to do with it..?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The warning seems to indicate the ImgBurn installation program is trying to run.

 

If you aren't doing it, something else on your machine must be doing it automatically.

 

I have no idea what that might be (outside of the Secunia PSI app I mentioned earlier).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The warning seems to indicate the ImgBurn installation program is trying to run.

 

If you aren't doing it, something else on your machine must be doing it automatically.

 

I have no idea what that might be (outside of the Secunia PSI app I mentioned earlier).

 

Is it trying to check for newer versions automatically ?

 

by the way immediately after install of v. 2.5.5. I got this.

 

IMGBurn-KIS-Warning-2011-01-25_193631.jpg

 

okay, sofar so good, (click on "Yes I trust")

 

then I got this

 

IMGBurn-warning3-KIS-2011-01-25_194334.jpg

 

=

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you get those boxes AFTER the install of 2.5.5.0, it seems Kaspersky is rubbish at doing its job!

 

Surely the first box should pop up when you double click the 'SetupImgBurn_2.5.5.0.exe' file. That's fair enough but UAC would already kick in as the installer needs elevated privileges to work.

 

The second one should pop up as the installer attempts to overwrite the 'ImgBurn.exe' file - but as you've trusted the installer, it shouldn't pop up at all.

 

ImgBurn checks for updates when you run it, not when you don't. Even then, it only does that when you've said you want it to. So these boxes are nothing to do with it trying to update itself.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have sent a support-request to Kaspersky Lab (also sent them the printscreens of course)

 

Should I get feedback, I'll get back here.

 

Thanks sofar.

=

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Promised to get back on this.

 

Kaspersky Support suggested to make IMGBurn a 'trusted application', which I did.

I am not sure if this is indeed the solution and only time will tell.

The Kaspersky warning (with v.2.5.4) was the first time after install of IMGBurn

and that was not much later than the date of release, so somewhere since 15 dec.

 

Anyway, let's see.

=

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this  

×

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.