Bootmgr could not be found

dts256

Hi all,

When I create a bootable Windows PE iso (Win PE 3.1) using the imgburn program itself, it boots just fine, with no problems, but when I attemted to create one using the command line switches as best I could (it's my first time using the imgburn command line) then the iso boots ok, but after the "Press any key to boot..." prompt, and after pressing a key, then I get "CDBOOT: BOOTMGR could not be found".

The command line I used is as follows:

imgburn.exe  /MODE BUILD /BUILDINPUTMODE STANDARD /BUILDOUTPUTMODE IMAGEFILE /SRC "path to ISO folder"
  /DEST "path to iso file"
  /FILESYSTEM "ISO9660 + Joliet"
  /VOLUMELABEL_ISO9660 "ISO"
  /VOLUMELABEL_JOLIET "ISO"
  /OVERWRITE NO /ROOTFOLDER YES /NOIMAGEDETAILS
  /BOOTEMUTYPE 0
  /BOOTIMAGE "full path\ISO\boot\etfsboot.com
  /BOOTLOADSEGMENT 07C0
  /BOOTSECTORSTOLOAD 8
  /START /CLOSE
  /LOG "full path\Log1.log

I hope it's all right splitting it up like that, makes it easier (for me anyway).

I've tried both oscdimg and mkisofs to do this. It seems that they expect certain files/folders to be in uppercase, bootmgr is one of them. When bootmgr is uppercased, these booted with no problems, but completely bypassed the "Press any key ..." prompt". I think the other files that need to be uppercased are \boot\bcd, \boot\boot.sdi and \boot\bootfix.bin. See this thread at reboot.pro http://reboot.pro/topic/8285-oscdimgexe-utility-not-case-sensitive/?hl=oscdimg

I realise that's probably how these programs are designed, but it's mighty frustrating when they both provide an option not to force uppercase and then the resulting PE doesn't boot.

Anyway, back to imgburn, I've made loads of PE iso's using imgburn and they've all worked flawlessly so I thought I'd try it with a command line as above. I've looked at the logs from both ways and I can't tell any difference between them, but I'm no expert.

What am I missing here ?